I came across Fierce Magenta on Etsy and fell in love with her lipstick shades but ended up purchasing four eyeshadows.

I’m a novice when it comes to mineral shadows but as I move more into indie world, I’m finding that I need to expand my view of minerals as well as my skill set. These full size shadows were $4.99 each, the shop had good reviews and a wide selection in shades i liked, so I figured it was as good of a place as any to jump in!

IMG_0943

I took advantage of a 4 for $16.00 promo, and from top to bottom, I received In Sterling, Sinful, Makeda and Violetta.

IMG_0942

Violetta had some shimmer in it, but not a lot, so I’d classify it as a satin. Makeda had a dark brown/maroon base and gold shimmer. Sinful was my favorite of the bunch as it was a gorgeous shift from burgundy-red shimmer to gold/bronze/copper shimmer. In Sterling is a shade that needs to be seen in person to appreciate, as the shimmer is a beautiful holo/rainbow color, and the grey background is lovely and soft. The photos that I took make it seem much more opaque than it is.

Speaking of which, these were swatched on a light shade of NYX base and tapped on then blended out. All achieved opaque coverage immediately and were easy to work with, especially for a mineral idiot like myself. The formula was very forgiving, and cleanup was a dream – just a baby wipe!

blog full face look

As for the look and application, I struggled a bit with keeping the shine to them while working with them. I used Nyx’s eyeshadow base, UD’s Righteous as a transitional shade, and Anger as a highlight. I used Sinful, Insterling and Violetta for this look and sadly, it turned into a muddled, dark mess.

eyelook fierce

I’m not quite ready to blame all of this on the shadow- after all, I’m new with minerals, and I could have very easily over-buffed while trying to eliminate lines. I was sad that the shift in Sinful and the holo of In Sterling seemed to disappear, though, as I was using that to be the highlight of the look. Oh well.

Fierce Magenta has over 100 items in her etsy shop, so there is something for everyone – not just those of us seeking some gothic shades.With such a reasonable price for 5g sifter jars of products, I do recommend checking her out if you’re wanting to try something new, or searching for a unique shade!

DISCLOSURE:

Everything reviewed in this post was purchased with my own money, at my own discretion.

 

